

© Copyright 2010 by the American Chemical Society and the American Society of Pharmacognosy

Volume 73, Number 1

January 2010

Editorial

Changes for Volume 73

Beginning in January 2010, the hard-copy form of the *Journal of Natural Products* will be changed to a "condensed print" format, in which two regular pages will appear in the space formerly occupied by one page. This initiative is being made in an effort to curtail the costs of producing and distributing the printed version. Increasingly, over the past few years our subscribers have been electing to obtain only the Web version of the journal. In late 2008, the Web site of the journal underwent a major reorganization in becoming more interactive and functional. Thus, in addition to providing facile access to the author instructions, ethical guidelines, and copyright information, the details of the most accessed and cited articles from the journal may be easily retrieved. Moreover, a cover catalog dating back to 2001 has been made available, among a host of other attractive and colorful features.

In March 2010, we will again have a special issue of the *Journal of Natural Products*, and this will be dedicated to two outstanding natural products researchers, namely, the late Dr. John W. Daly, formerly of NIDDK, NIH, Bethesda, Maryland, and the late Dr. Richard E. Moore, formerly of the University of Hawaii at Manoa. The cover illustration to be used in the January–June 2010 issues of this journal exemplifies the fascinating work performed by Dr. Daly and his colleagues and shows a photograph of the Colombian poison-dart frog *Phyllobates aurotaenia*, overlaid by the structure of its principal bioactive constituent, batrachotoxin. This toxic compound has become an important "biochemical tool" used in research laboratories all over the world. For the remaining months of 2010 (July–December), our cover illustration will feature the work of Dr. Moore, who was internationally recognized for his studies on the isolation and characterization of bioactive components of marine organisms, often of considerable structural complexity.

Two award-winning papers published in the *Journal of Natural Products* in 2008 were chosen by a two-stage selection process involving the journal editors and an ad hoc committee formed by the American Society of Pharmacognosy [constituted by Drs. Shmuel Carmeli, Ben Shen (Chair), and Barbara Timmermann]. The coauthors of the paper chosen for the Arthur E. Schwarting Award (open to all authors) were P. J. Stephens, J. J. Pan, F. J. Devlin, and J. R. Cheeseman (*J. Nat. Prod.* **2008**, *71*, 285–288). In turn, the coauthors of the Jack L. Beal Award contribution (submitted by a younger investigator as corresponding author) were Beatrice Adams, Peter Pörzgen, Emily Pittman, Wesley Y. Yoshida, Hans E. Westenburg, and F. David Horgen (*J. Nat. Prod.* **2008**, *71*, 750–754). The Schwarting and Beal Awards are supported through the Foundation of the American Society of Pharmacognosy and named after two former editors of the *Journal of Natural Products*. Open access has been granted on the journal Web site for all previous winning papers for these awards, dating back to their inception in 2001 (http://pubs.acs.org/jnp).

A. Douglas Kinghorn

Editor-in-Chief

NP9007969